The best carbon accounting software in Australia for 2026

We scored 32 carbon accounting platforms against the ten questions Australian sustainability managers ask when they search for carbon accounting software, and ranked the 20 we could verify on every one from the vendors' own pages. NetNada ranks first with 87.5 out of 100; Carbonly is second on 76.5 and IBM Envizi third on 75.75.

Afonso Firmo
Afonso Firmo Co-Founder & Co-CEO
| | Updated:
Share
Answer this with AI

NetNada publishes this page and ranks its own product. The rubric, the weights and a source for every score are below so you can check our work. NetNada is scored as a quote-based vendor on price, where it loses points to platforms with a free tier or a published price.

The verdict

NetNada scores 87.5. It covers all three scopes, generates AASB S2, CSRD and CDP reports from the same data, ships current NGA Factors with an NGER submission tool, extracts activity data from source documents, supports activity- and spend-based methods with a free supplier portal, and exports audit packs and publish-ready reports. It gives up points on price, where it is quote-based while Persefoni offers a free tier and Sumday a free plan through Xero, and on framework breadth, where IBM Envizi and Sweep ship more international templates. Carbonly is second on 76.5, IBM Envizi third on 75.75 and Avarni fourth on 71.25. Twelve more platforms are scored where public sources allowed but not ranked, because at least one criterion could not be verified.

The ranking

Rank 1

NetNada

netnada.com

87.5 out of 100 Total

Segment:
Australian specialist
Pricing:
Modular, quote-based
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 10 out of 10

    All three scopes with all 15 Scope 3 categories calculated in the software, from activity or spend data. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 8 out of 10

    AASB S2, CSRD (ESRS E1) and CDP report templates, with ISSB, TCFD, NGER, Climate Active and SBTi report types; SASB and SEC are not offered. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 10 out of 10

    NGA Factors pre-loaded and updated when DCCEEW releases new tables, NGER Methods 1–4 applied, and a public emission-factor database with every source documented. [source]

  • Automated data collection 8.5 out of 10

    Xero, MYOB and QuickBooks connectors plus SAP and Oracle, and activity-data feeds for energy and solar systems, logistics, fuel cards and travel; the enterprise connections run deeper than quick API links but take longer to deploy. Upload or sync source documents and NetNada extracts the activity data from invoices automatically, keeping the document as evidence; energy, solar, logistics, fuel-card and travel feeds are also available. Mapping new document types still takes a review pass. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 9 out of 10

    Activity-based calculator for fuel, distance, energy, refrigerants and waste alongside spend-based methods, 1–5 star data-quality tiering, and a free supplier portal for primary data. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 9.5 out of 10

    Version history with before/after values and approver records, evidence linked to every data point, audit packs, and NetNada numbers already audited by Deloitte, Grant Thornton and RSM. Output: aI Report Generator exports DOCX, PDF and XLSX with framework validation before export, plus board packs and XBRL tagging. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 6 out of 10

    Modular, quote-based pricing across three tiers with a 14-day free trial; no published price, so it cannot be filtered on cost before a conversation. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 9 out of 10

    Science-based target tracker with near-term, net-zero and FLAG targets, a required-reduction pathway against SBTi ambition levels, and a reduction progress tracker; SBTi submission review is a priced service. Part software, part vendor-delivered service. [source]

Rank 2

Carbonly

carbonly.ai

76.5 out of 100 Total

Segment:
Australian specialist
Pricing:
Per-project licence, quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 9 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 across all 15 subcategories from physical activity data. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 6 out of 10

    NGER, AASB S2, Safeguard Mechanism and Climate Active configured for Australian reporters; no ISSB, CSRD or GRI. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 10 out of 10

    NGA 2025 factors with version history, state grid factors, automatic recalculation when DCCEEW publishes updates, and AR5/AR6 reported per standard. [source]

  • Automated data collection 7.5 out of 10

    SAP, Oracle, NetSuite, Xero, MYOB and QuickBooks are supported via CSV export with no write-back; live connectors are described as still expanding. Document-extraction first: invoices, dockets and EPDs are read by AI from email, OneDrive and SharePoint, with the source line stored verbatim. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 7 out of 10

    Activity-first from invoices and dockets with a spend-based path added in June 2026, eight data-quality checks, and a supplier portal shipped November 2025. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 8.5 out of 10

    ASSA 5010-ready audit trail, verbatim source-line storage, factor snapshots at confirmation, auditor role, seven-year retention and AWS Sydney residency. Output: custom report builder with PDF and Excel export carrying source-document references, one-click board packs and a ZIP evidence pack. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 6 out of 10

    Monthly account fee plus per-project licence with unlimited users and “from $100/month” on the blog; no trial. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 8 out of 10

    Targets with milestones, 1.5°C/2°C/3°C pathways, scenario modelling and an abatement cost curve; no SBTi workflow. [source]

Rank 3

IBM Envizi

ibm.com/products/envizi

75.8 out of 100 Total

Segment:
Global enterprise, Sydney-founded
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 10 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 with coverage across all Scope 3 categories and GHG Protocol methods. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 9 out of 10

    ESRS, IFRS S1/S2, ASRS S1/S2, GRI, CDP and SASB as managed frameworks in the Sustainability Reporting Manager. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 9 out of 10

    A managed NGER and NGA workbook factor set maintained since 2009, 2025 version, updated after each NGER and NGA release, on AR5. [source]

  • Automated data collection 6.5 out of 10

    ERP, metering and utility ingestion is offered, but connectors require a Connector Add-On and are designed and built by IBM Expert Labs. Ingests from ERP systems, IoT and metering platforms and utility providers, with attachments against each record; connector builds are Expert Labs work. Delivered as a service, not in the software. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    Factor selection by data type, region and period, watsonx spend classification, supplier-specific and hybrid methods, and a supplier portal; no data-quality score. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 9 out of 10

    Every change logged with full audit trails, attachments can be made mandatory with a bypass reason, and audit reports of attachments can be extracted. Output: export fields or whole disclosures to PDF, Word and Excel with attachments, reusable across frameworks and years. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 2 out of 10

    Quote only, account-volume tiers, 12-month minimum, sales-led scoping. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 6 out of 10

    Energy, cost, emissions and intensity targets with tracking dashboards and a what-if sandbox; no SBTi workflow, pathways or milestones. [source]

Rank 4

Avarni

avarni.co

71.3 out of 100 Total

Segment:
Australian specialist
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 10 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 with all 15 categories and specialised features for purchased goods, capital goods and travel. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 4 out of 10

    ASRS/AASB S2 and GHG Protocol are the only frameworks named, as alignment; the help centre says there is no single report button. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 9.5 out of 10

    NGA Factors named as a source, and the help centre documents AR5 for NGER and AR6 for ASRS reporting; factor update cadence is not stated. [source]

  • Automated data collection 8.5 out of 10

    Named connectors for SAP, Oracle NetSuite, Dynamics 365, Pronto, Xero, Workday and Oracle via a managed API connection; MYOB is not named. Bills are uploaded and held as evidence with a step-by-step calculation breakdown; data can also arrive through the managed ERP connections. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    Spend, supplier and activity inputs with a help article on when each is acceptable, and supplier surveys with free supplier access; no data-quality rating. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 6 out of 10

    Step-by-step calculation breakdown with factor source link, bill uploads held as evidence, a change log, an auditor viewer role and SOC 2 Type II. Output: “There is no single report button”: CSV, Excel with live formulas and PNG chart exports; narrative disclosure is left to the customer. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 4 out of 10

    Yearly subscription priced by AASB S2 Group with unlimited users; no pricing page, trial or self-serve signup. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 8 out of 10

    Targets aligned with SBTi 1.5°C trajectories, multiple reduction plans compared side by side, supply-chain and operational levers; the help centre notes it does not calculate progress. [source]

Rank 5

Watershed

watershed.com

69.8 out of 100 Total

Segment:
Global enterprise, Sydney office
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 10 out of 10

    All 15 Scope 3 categories with activity-based category 1 and AI supply-chain decomposition. Part software, part vendor-delivered service. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 8 out of 10

    Dedicated disclosure products for CSRD, ISSB/IFRS S1-S2, California SB 253/261 and CDP; AASB S2 mapping described on the blog. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 3 out of 10

    2.3 million factors with CEDA and USEEIO as defaults and bring-your-own factors supported, but no Australian NGA or NGER source is named. [source]

  • Automated data collection 6.5 out of 10

    “60+ pre-built integrations” and API ingestion are claimed, but no connector list is published and the integrations page returns 404. Intelligent data ingestion uses AI and APIs to take any kind of data, with the same governance as CSV uploads. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    Activity-based category 1 for purchased goods, CEDA spend factors, 150+ checks, and a guided supplier portal; no data-quality rating. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 8 out of 10

    Full data lineage, 150+ automated checks, methodologies assured by a third party every year and a complete audit trail for all carbon data. Output: flexible report builder with pre-configured templates and AI drafting; output formats are not named. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 2 out of 10

    No pricing page, trial or self-serve signup; third parties report USD 50,000–250,000 a year. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 9 out of 10

    Science-based targets, reduction path modelling, scenario planning for energy and procurement and AI hotspot identification, with expert advisory alongside. Part software, part vendor-delivered service. [source]

Rank 6

Greenly

greenly.earth

69.8 out of 100 Total

Segment:
European SME and mid-market
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 9 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 with Scope 3 financial on the base tier and physical analysis as an upgrade. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 7 out of 10

    CSRD, TCFD/IFRS S1-S2, CDP, SBTi, SECR, UK SRS, VSME, EU Taxonomy, CBAM and more; no AASB S2, GRI or SASB. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 2 out of 10

    The best-documented factor list in this group (ADEME, DESNZ, EPA, IEA, ecoinvent, Exiobase) contains no Australian source. [source]

  • Automated data collection 7 out of 10

    Named accounting connectors via Codat including Xero, Oracle NetSuite, QuickBooks, Sage and Dynamics 365 BC; no SAP or MYOB. “Turn any file (PDF, CSV, Excel) into clean, categorised emissions data”; accounting sync covers the rest. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 9 out of 10

    Activity- and spend-based methods, published uncertainty levels and a mandatory data-quality step, with a supplier portal and conversational questionnaires. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 7.5 out of 10

    Every entry and modification logged for auditor review, 400+ automated checks, SOC 2 and ISO 27001. Output: automated CSRD, CDP and EU Taxonomy reports with XBRL/XHTML for CSRD and Excel/CSV export; no PDF or Word named. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 4 out of 10

    Three tiers, quote only, climate expert bundled; no trial or self-serve. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 9 out of 10

    Trajectory builder with pre-configured 1.5°C pathways, real-time scenarios, AI action plans with ROI and CAPEX; SBTi submission as a service. Part software, part vendor-delivered service. [source]

Rank 7

Sweep

sweep.net

67.8 out of 100 Total

Segment:
European enterprise
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 9 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 with activity, spend and hybrid methods across purchased goods, logistics and product use. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 9 out of 10

    AASB S1/S2, IFRS S1/S2, SASB, GRI, CSRD, SEC, SB 253, CDP, TCFD and UK SRS with 250+ indicators and templates aligned to the IFRS taxonomy. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 2 out of 10

    “Verified emission factors” with ecoinvent and Blonk as named libraries; no Australian source is named. [source]

  • Automated data collection 4.5 out of 10

    API, files, surveys and integrations are listed generically; no ERP or accounting connector is named. Data collection via API, files and surveys; no document extraction is described. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    Activity, spend and hybrid methods, supplier portals with free accounts and scorecards on data quality; no data-quality rating per record. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 7 out of 10

    Full traceability of every factor, calculation and data source, access tracking, SOC 2 and ISO 27001. Output: aI-drafted disclosure responses with version control and lineage; output formats not named. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 4 out of 10

    Quote only with Starter and Midmarket packages but no price or trial. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 10 out of 10

    SBTi-aligned absolute and intensity targets, abatement cost curve, CAPEX/OPEX, AI forecasts and multi-year scenario simulations. [source]

Rank 8

Unravel Carbon

unravelcarbon.com

65.8 out of 100 Total

Segment:
APAC enterprise, Sydney and Perth offices
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 8 out of 10

    Scope 1 and 2 on Starter; Scope 3 across 15 categories from Carbon Pro. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 7 out of 10

    IFRS-licensed ISSB workflow, TCFD, GRI and CSRD alignment with an AASB S2 blog; 25+ frameworks claimed. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 3 out of 10

    136,000 factors from 400+ sources, but NGA Factors and NGER methodology are not named. [source]

  • Automated data collection 8 out of 10

    Automated extraction from SAP, NetSuite and Oracle on the product page, Xero on the blog; API integrations are Enterprise-plan only. OCR extraction of utility bills and a data-transformation agent that shows which factors were applied. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    Hybrid item-level factors over spend across all 15 categories, quality-scored factors and a supplier data-collection agent. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 7.5 out of 10

    Visibility of data-match quality and the emission factors used down to source, OCR of utility bills, auditor logins described on the blog. Output: iSSB export pack with a Word document, Excel data and a ZIP of charts, plus CSV data books. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 3 out of 10

    Three tiers and add-ons, all “contact us”; no trial. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 6 out of 10

    Long-term and interim climate goals with decarbonisation solutions by cost and impact; targets are an Expansion add-on, no SBTi or forecasting. [source]

Rank 9

BraveGen

bravegen.com

65.5 out of 100 Total

Segment:
ANZ mid-market, Sydney office
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 8 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 with supplier and tenant data capture; category coverage not enumerated. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 7 out of 10

    ASRS (IFRS S1/S2), TCFD, SASB, CDSB, NGERS and NZ CRD named for disclosure, with science-based targets. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 5 out of 10

    NGERS is a supported framework and the buyer’s guide recommends NGA datasets, but the shipped factor source is not stated. [source]

  • Automated data collection 7 out of 10

    Code-free integrations, email-to-upload and APIs; no named accounting or ERP connector. Tools to digitise PDFs and process data files, scheduled email-to-upload, and utility data from the BraveGen Connect logger and smart meters. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    Explicit spend-based, activity-based and hybrid support with 40,000 audited factors and a supplier survey portal. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 7 out of 10

    Approval workflows, audit trails, rollbacks and quarantine tools, from a product team with Big 4-tested assurance history. Output: “One-click generation of regulator-ready disclosure reports aligned with ASRS”; no format or narrative builder named. Part software, part vendor-delivered service. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 2 out of 10

    Talk-to-an-expert only; the vendor says SMEs are not the right fit. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 7 out of 10

    Scenario analysis, forecasting tools and net-zero target-setting support, as both platform claims and consulting. Part software, part vendor-delivered service. [source]

Rank 10

Clear Carbon

clearcarbon.com.au

64.8 out of 100 Total

Segment:
Australian environmental data platform
Pricing:
Quote only
  • Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 9 out of 10

    Scope 1–3 with a 15-category structure and every GHG Protocol method listed. [source]

  • Regulatory framework coverage 5 out of 10

    NGERS, CDP, GRI, TCFD, IFRS and SBTi alignment with customisable templates; AASB S2 only in FAQs. [source]

  • Localised emission factors 4 out of 10

    “Approved factors” with factor versions and NGERS as a framework; NGA Factors and the NGER Determination are not named. [source]

  • Automated data collection 6.5 out of 10

    ERP, accounts-payable, procurement and SCADA sources via APIs and files; no named connector. Carbon Sense ingests from meters, SCADA, enterprise systems, databases, APIs and files with evidence preserved against each result. [source]

  • Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 8 out of 10

    All GHG Protocol methods including activity and spend, primary-data coverage measurement and Carbon Fabric supplier workflows. [source]

  • Audit-grade data and report output 7 out of 10

    Source evidence, approvals, version history and factor versions connected to every result, with ISSA 5000 referenced. Output: scheduled, configurable reports and dashboards with configurable output structures; no formats named. [source]

  • Priced for your company size 3 out of 10

    Quote only; a complimentary five-day proof of value is the entry path. [source]

  • Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 9 out of 10

    Net-zero glidepaths, pathway comparison, abatement cost curve, scenarios and forecasting with SBTi gap analysis. [source]

Ranked 11 to 20

These platforms were verified on every criterion and scored on the same rubric. Each score links to the vendor page it was read on.

# Platform Scope 1,Regulatory frameworkLocalised emissionAutomated dataActivity data,Audit-grade dataPriced forDecarbonisation strategy, Total
11
Trace
our-trace.com · Australian specialist
8 6 9 7 6 6 5 5 64.5
12
Microsoft Sustainability Manager
microsoft.com · Global enterprise
9 6 7.5 6 7 5.5 5 6 64.3
13
Greenbase (Envago)
greenbase.com.au · Australian specialist, heavy industry
7 7 7 6 5 8 3 8 64
14
Salesforce Net Zero Cloud
salesforce.com · CRM-platform ESG suite
9 5 6 5.5 8 7 2 8 63.3
15
Persefoni
persefoni.com · US carbon ledger
9 4 2 5.5 6 7.5 9 7 61.5
16
Sumday
sumday.io · Australian specialist, finance-led
8 5 5 6.5 6 7 8 2 59.8
17
Diligent ESG
diligent.com · Governance suite
8 6 5 5 6 8.5 3 3 57.3
18
Plan A
plana.earth · European CSRD platform
7 4 2 5 6 6.5 4 9 54.3
19
Workiva Carbon
workiva.com · Reporting suite, Sydney and Melbourne offices
7 5 3 7 5 6.5 2 6 53.3
20
ClimatePartner
climatepartner.com · European CSRD and offsets
8 4 2 4 7 6.5 3 6 51.3

Hover or tap a score for the one-line reason; the link opens the vendor page it was read on.

Also evaluated, not ranked

These platforms are scored where public sources allowed. Each is missing at least one criterion, so it isn't ranked yet. A dash means we could not verify that criterion from the vendor's own pages.

Platform Scope 1,Regulatory frameworkLocalised emissionAutomated dataActivity data,Audit-grade dataPriced forDecarbonisation strategy, Missing
Greener
Enterprise and consultant AASB S2 platform; governance module listed as coming soon
5——6—7—— Factor sources and integrations not documented
Climate Zero
Xero App Store listing at AUD 250/month (Essential)
6——7—8—— Factor sources not named
Carbonhalo
Done-for-you AASB S2 service with a platform; NGER/NGA factors stated explicitly
5—96—6—— No accounting or ERP integration documented
Drova
GRC platform with the strongest four-pillar disclosure workflow docs in the set
—————8—— Emissions calculated by Avarni, not natively; integrations page 404
Pathzero
Serves asset owners and fund managers (PCAF, IFRS S2)
—————7—— Financed emissions only; no corporate Scope 3, factors or ERP docs
Cority Sustainability Cloud
EHS suite with a carbon module
5——6—5—— No factor sources named; no Australian presence found
Deloitte SustainNext Climate Reporting
Subscription software (powered by Credibl) wrapped in Deloitte advisory; the one Big Four AU firm with a named AASB S2 product
4————8—— Factors and integrations not documented
Anthesis Intelligence
Software plus consulting (formerly Ndevr Environmental); CSRD, SEC and CDP templates
9——7—9—— No Australian factor source named in the product
EY Decarbonization Management Platform
EY-configured Microsoft-stack solution; EY Australia’s AASB S2 pages are advisory and assurance
4——————— No public AASB S2, factor or audit-trail documentation for the software
KPMG Climate IQ
Covers the strategy and risk pillars; assurance is a KPMG service
———————— A climate-risk scenario tool, not a carbon accounting product
PwC Australia
ASRS implementation advisory and sustainability assurance
———————— No licensable software on PwC Australia’s site
Arcadia (formerly ENGIE Impact Ellipse)
ENGIE Impact was acquired by Arcadia in April 2026; the Ellipse product page no longer exists
———8—7—— No AASB S2 or ISSB support, no Australian presence documented

Score table

Scores checked 8 October 2026.

Criterion Weight NetNada Carbonly IBM Envizi Avarni Watershed Greenly Sweep Unravel Carbon BraveGen Clear Carbon
Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 10 10910101099889
Regulatory framework coverage 15 8694879775
Localised emission factors 10 101099.5322354
Automated data collection 15 8.57.56.58.56.574.5876.5
Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 15 9788898888
Audit-grade data and report output 15 9.58.59687.577.577
Priced for your company size 10 6624244323
Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 10 98689910679
Total 100 87.576.575.871.369.869.867.865.865.564.8

Total = Σ (score × weight ÷ 10). Bold marks the best score on each criterion.

Scores checked 8 October 2026.

Criterion Weight Trace Microsoft Sustainability Manager Greenbase (Envago) Salesforce Net Zero Cloud Persefoni Sumday Diligent ESG Plan A Workiva Carbon ClimatePartner
Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage 10 8979988778
Regulatory framework coverage 15 6675456454
Localised emission factors 10 97.576255232
Automated data collection 15 7665.55.56.55574
Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement 15 6758666657
Audit-grade data and report output 15 65.5877.578.56.56.56.5
Priced for your company size 10 5532983423
Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting 10 5688723966
Total 100 64.564.36463.361.559.857.354.353.351.3

Total = Σ (score × weight ÷ 10). Bold marks the best score on each criterion.

The five questions, side by side

Question NetNadaCarbonlyIBM EnviziAvarniWatershedGreenlySweepUnravel CarbonBraveGenClear Carbon
All 15 Scope 3 categories calculated in the software? YesYesYesYesYesPartlyYesPartlyPartlyYes
AASB S2 template in the software? YesYesYesNoPartlyNoYesPartlyPartlyNo
Names Australian NGA Factors? YesYesYesYesNoNoNoNoPartlyNo
Named accounting or ERP connectors? YesPartlyPartlyYesNoYesNoYesNoNo
Supplier portal for primary data? YesYesYesYesYesYesYesPartlyYesPartly
Publishes a price or offers a free tier? NoPartlyNoNoNoNoNoNoNoNo
Reduction pathways and targets in the software? YesYesPartlyYesYesYesYesPartlyPartlyYes

A dash means it isn't a clean yes or no from the vendor's own pages.

When another platform is the better pick

  • Pick Persefoni if you want to start free: its Pro tier is self-serve with all 15 Scope 3 categories, though ISSB templates and the supplier exchange are still “coming soon”. [source]
  • Pick Sumday if you run on Xero and want a free small-business plan with finance-led carbon accounting. [source]
  • Pick IBM Envizi if you report under many international frameworks at once and want the longest-maintained NGER and NGA factor set, with budget for Expert Labs integration work. [source]
  • Pick Sweep if decarbonisation modelling is the priority: SBTi-aligned targets, abatement cost curves and CAPEX/OPEX scenarios are the richest in the set. [source]
  • Pick Avarni if you run SAP, Oracle or NetSuite and want the quickest ERP connections; it has no report builder, so narrative disclosure is yours to write. [source]
  • Pick Watershed if you run a multinational Scope 3 programme with thousands of suppliers; it names no Australian factor source and publishes no price. [source]
  • Pick Carbonly if you are an asset-heavy NGER or Safeguard reporter who wants activity data extracted from invoices and dockets with a per-project licence. [source]
  • Pick Greenly if you report in Europe and want Codat accounting connectors, published uncertainty maths and a bundled climate expert. [source]
  • Pick Greenbase (Envago) if you are in mining, energy or utilities and need NGER lodgement and NPI submission from the same system. [source]
  • Pick Clear Carbon if you run asset-intensive operations with SCADA and meter data and want glidepaths and abatement curves on top. [source]
  • Pick Trace if you want climate risk and disclosure drafting done with the vendor's specialists and a modular, cohort-based engagement. [source]
  • Pick Microsoft Sustainability Manager, Salesforce Net Zero Cloud or Workiva Carbon if your data already lives in that platform and you have the budget and skills to configure it; their ASRS templates are preview or absent. [source]

Pricing

Prices checked 8 October 2026.

Platform Listed price Source
NetNada Modular (carbon accounting, climate reporting, supply chain, target setting bought separately); quote-based; suppliers share data free netnada.com/pricing
Salesforce Net Zero Cloud Growth: AU$294,000 per org per year; supplier engagement add-on US$60,000 salesforce.com/au
Microsoft Sustainability Manager Essentials US$4,000 and Premium US$12,000 per tenant per month, plus per-user licences microsoft.com/en-au
Climate Zero Essential AU$250 per month (Xero App Store listing; own pricing page 404) Xero App Store
Carbonly Monthly account fee plus per-project licence; “from $100/month” stated on the blog, currency not given carbonly.ai
Persefoni Pro tier free; Advanced quote only persefoni.com
Sumday Small Business plan free for 12 months for Xero customers; otherwise quote only Xero App Store
Avarni Annual subscription priced by AASB S2 group; quote only avarni.co
Trace Starter, Pro and Enterprise; quote only our-trace.com
IBM Envizi, Watershed, Greenbase, Unravel Carbon, BraveGen, Greenly, Diligent, Sweep, Workiva, Clear Carbon, ClimatePartner, Plan A Quote only Vendor pricing pages

How we scored

Criterion Weight A 10 means A 5 means
Scope 1, 2 and 3 coverage
Buyer question: Does it cover Scope 1, 2 and 3, including the complexity of supplier and value-chain emissions?
10 All three scopes with all 15 Scope 3 categories calculated in the software Scope 1 and 2 with partial or add-on Scope 3A 2: Scope 1 and 2 only
Regulatory framework coverage
Buyer question: Which regulatory frameworks does it support: CSRD and ESRS E1, SEC climate rules, or local national frameworks?
15 AASB S2/ASRS plus ISSB, CSRD/ESRS and NGER as templates in the software Two or three frameworks as templates, others 'aligned'A 2: One framework, or alignment claimed only
Localised emission factors
Buyer question: Are the emission factors localised, such as Australian NGA Factors or DEFRA and EPA, rather than generic global averages?
10 Current NGA Factors and NGER methods named and version-tracked, with DEFRA and EPA for overseas sites Australian factors available but dated, or NGER named without the sourceA 2: Global averages only
Automated data collection
Buyer question: How does it collect data: live from ERP systems, cloud providers, utility meters and accounting software, or manual uploads?
15 Named live connectors for accounting, ERP, cloud and utilities, plus document extraction One connector type or CSV templatesA 2: Manual upload only
Activity data, spend data and supplier engagement
Buyer question: Does it use activity data or spend-based estimates, and does it have portals or surveys to collect primary data from suppliers?
15 Activity- and spend-based methods, data-quality tagging, and a supplier portal for primary data One method, or supplier requests without a portalA 2: Spend-based estimates only
Audit-grade data and report output
Buyer question: Is the data audit-grade, with verifiable trails and methodology certification, and does it generate ready-to-publish reports?
15 Change-logged trail, evidence per data point, assured methodology and ready-to-publish reports Trail or reports, not both; 'audit-ready' claimed without mechanicsA 2: Exports only
Priced for your company size
Buyer question: Is it priced for my company size: self-serve, modular pricing rather than $50,000-plus enterprise platforms?
10 Published SME or mid-market price with self-serve signup or free trial Modular or quote-based with a free trial or free tier and mid-market positioningA 2: Enterprise-only: per-org price at or above AUD 50,000, minimum terms
Decarbonisation strategy, not just accounting
Buyer question: Does it include decarbonisation strategy: reduction pathways, milestones and forecasts, or just past emissions?
10 Target setting (SBTi), reduction pathway modelling, forecasts and milestone tracking in the software Target tracking only, or planning delivered as a serviceA 2: Historic accounting only

What we didn't score. Industry-specific depth (product footprints, freight, cloud, embodied carbon) isn't scored, because the overview's follow-up questions differ by sector; those belong on industry pages. Calculation accuracy isn't scored, because no vendor publishes a comparable figure. Advisory and assurance services isn't scored, because Deloitte, EY, KPMG, PwC and Anthesis are channel partners for software like NetNada's; we scored only software they license.

Sources. Every score comes from the vendor's own pages or help centre read on 7 and 8 October 2026, unless marked third-party. Where a vendor documents its approach but names no Australian source, connector or price, it is scored low rather than withheld. Where a vendor publishes nothing on a criterion, the score is withheld and the platform appears in the “also evaluated” table. Service-delivered capabilities are labelled on each card.

What you need to know before choosing

Don't start with the live accounting API

For mandatory reporting NetNada tells clients not to begin with a live Xero or MYOB connection. The API is a black box that pulls unreconciled wages, back-payments and prepayments and can inflate the footprint before anyone has set the boundary. Start with a transaction-level CSV, agree the boundary, then switch the integration on. Faster is not better for assurance. (Afonso Firmo and Lochie Burke, NetNada.) Accounting software integrations

Granularity is not accuracy

Spend-based Scope 3 factors are usually built on input-output data three or more years older than the spend, so adjust for inflation and currency before you compare vendors' numbers. Expect better data to push a footprint up as often as down. Doing more work on data quality does not mean the number falls. (Afonso Firmo, NetNada.) Scope 3 emissions calculator

Ask every vendor to walk you through one electricity bill

The most common calculation error we see is a platform applying the market-based residual factor to total kilowatt-hours without first removing the renewable power percentage the Clean Energy Regulator publishes each year. NetNada produces four ledger lines per electricity record and applies certificates only to the market-based line. Scope 2 is the first thing assured, so test it in the demo. (Afonso Firmo, NetNada.) Scope 2 market-based calculator

Only five vendors publish a price

Of 32 platforms, five publish any price: Salesforce (AU$294,000 a year), Microsoft (US$4,000 a month per tenant), Climate Zero (AU$250 a month), Persefoni (free Pro tier) and Sumday (free small-business plan via Xero). Everyone else, NetNada included, quotes. If budget is the first filter, ask for the modular breakdown rather than a single platform number. NetNada pricing

FAQ

What is the best carbon accounting software in Australia?
On our published rubric NetNada scores highest at 87.5 out of 100, followed by Carbonly (76.5), IBM Envizi (75.75) and Avarni (71.25). If you are choosing specifically for AASB S2 reporting, see our separate AASB S2 and ASRS ranking, which scores the same platforms on the five questions that regime raises.
Which carbon accounting software is free or cheapest?
Persefoni's Pro tier is free and self-serve. Sumday's small-business plan is free for Xero customers. Climate Zero lists AU$250 a month on the Xero App Store. Carbonly states “from $100 a month” on its blog with a per-project licence. NetNada is modular and quote-based with a 14-day trial.
Which platforms use Australian NGA Factors?
NetNada, Avarni, IBM Envizi, Trace, Carbonly, Microsoft Sustainability Manager and Salesforce name NGA Factors on their own pages. Greenbase and BraveGen name NGER methods. Watershed, Sweep, Greenly, Unravel Carbon, Persefoni, Workiva, Clear Carbon, ClimatePartner and Plan A name no Australian source.
Which connect to Xero, MYOB, SAP or Oracle?
NetNada and Trace document Xero and MYOB; NetNada also connects SAP and Oracle. Avarni names SAP, Oracle, NetSuite, Dynamics, Pronto and Xero. Unravel Carbon names SAP, NetSuite and Oracle. Greenly names Xero, NetSuite and Sage via Codat. Workiva names SAP, Oracle and NetSuite at platform level.
Activity-based or spend-based: which should I use?
Both, in sequence. Spend-based gets a baseline quickly from the ledger; activity data (kilowatt-hours, litres, kilometres, tonnes) is what assurers test and what reduction plans need. Every ranked platform supports spend-based; those scoring 8 or above on methods support both with a supplier portal for primary data.
Which platforms help with decarbonisation, not just accounting?
Sweep, NetNada, Greenly, Watershed, Clear Carbon and Plan A score 9 or more: target setting, reduction pathways, forecasts and milestone tracking in the software. Sumday delivers this as a service and Diligent does not document it.
Why isn't Deloitte, EY, KPMG or PwC ranked?
Only Deloitte Australia publishes a named, licensable software product (SustainNext) and its pages do not document factors or integrations. The others offer services or configured platforms. These firms are channel partners for software like NetNada's; the page scores software, not services.
Does NetNada publish its prices?
No. NetNada is sold as modules (carbon accounting, climate reporting, supply chain and target setting) and quoted to the organisation, with a 14-day free trial. Suppliers invited through the supply chain module share data free.

Go deeper